current | archives | rings | guestbook | profile | notes | design | host

v u l v a l i c i o u s

Sometimes (Lester Piggot)
2002-10-13 // 8:13 p.m.

There's a storm outside, and the gap between crack and thunder, Crack and thunder, is closing in, is closing in.

The rain floods gutters, and makes a great sound on the concrete--On a flat roof, there's a boy leaning against the wall of rain, aerial held high, calling "come on thunder, come on thunder."

Sometimes, when I look deep in your eyes, I swear I can see your soul. Sometimes, when I look deep in your eyes, I swear I can see your soul.

It's a monsoon, and the rain lifts lids off cars, spinning buses like toys, stripping them to chrome. Across the bay, the waves are turning into something else, picking up fishing boats and spewing them on the shore.

The boy is hit, lit up against the sky, like a sign, like a neon sign. And he crumples, drops into the gutter, legs twitching. The flood swells his clothes and delivers him on, delivers him on.

Sometimes, when I look deep in your eyes, I swear I can see your soul. Sometimes, when I look deep in your eyes, I swear I can see your soul.

There's four new colors in the rainbow; An old man's taking polaroids, but all he captures is endless rain, endless rain. He says listen, takes my head and puts my ear to his, and I swear I can hear the sea.

Sometimes, when I look in your eyes I see your soul (I can touch your soul).

This song keeps me going sometimes. I remember standing in the middle of a field, arms outstretched, feeling the rain cover me. Soaked, I finally felt okay.

Not cleansed so much as refreshed.

There was another grrl outside, one I had wanted for so long, who was sitting, letting the rain carry her away. And when I hear that song, I close my eyes and fall back to that place. I am back in that field, and she is there, and the rain is all around me.

Something feels right, even when things are wrong.

There is power in that song. Blessed be the Cunt.

back-forth

i travel backwards in time, but dream of going forward - 2006-11-21
The Gentrification of a Perfectly Good Cunt - 2006-04-02
apologia, not apology - 2006-03-06
karen carpeter loops and the space time continuum - 2005-12-19
kissing like you mean it, even when you don't necessarily know what "it" is - 2005-04-16